Shango a reçu une bourse pour participer à la manifestation CAMPING organisée par le Centre national de la danse   

What is your artistic background?
My artistic endeavours include dancing professionally for the past 6 years and jeweling for about as long. I make custom hand made jewelry put of natural materials.


What is your view on your profession today?
My view on my profession today is largely seen as the thin line between work and play. I teach kids and adult dance as well as selling jewelry. I've been dancing ever since I was a kid but it wasn't until I turned 17 and my life changed drastically and I had to dance to support myself and make a living. Coming from GA to NY with a backpack full of clothes and an attitude I had to look at dance not as something I do sometimes. No. It was giving me life. And I loved it. I took that information and it has guided me to teaching consistently, winning 10,000 dollar competitions and growing overall into the artist I am now. Dance for me is was never something secondary. It was and is as essential as breath and should be taken seriously but not to seriously. 

How do you see yourself in 5 years? In 10 years?
Where do I see myself in the next 5-10 years? My visions on my future tend to be kinda open for my own sake but I could definitely see myself teaching on a larger scale, traveling consistently, creating projects with bigger names, venues and audiences. I could also see myself traveling looking for more dances to explore and styles to learn. 


Photographie : Céline Anaya Gautier